Get freebies and stories by email!

  • Discover the pianist's new recording project Beethoven Evolutions and discover pictures from the recording sessions!
  • The critically acclaimed debut album now available on iTunes, AmazonMP3, Google play and CDbaby!


Beethoven Evolutions (Vol. 1)

After his critically acclaimed debut album Introducing Pierre-Arnaud Dablemont released in July 2012, pianist Pierre-Arnaud Dablemont presents his next recording project dedicated to six sonatas by Ludwig van Beethoven.

This project called Beethoven – Evolutions consists in two albums each one featuring a set of three sonatas aiming to reveal Beethoven’s musical language experiments and evolution.

Dablemont choose here two very particular sets of sonatas. First, the three sonatas opus 27 & 28 considered as Beethoven’s first experiments in the genre and belonging to what is commonly referred to as Beethoven’s second period. In a second volume, the pianist will play the last three piano sonatas op. 109, 110 and 111 symbolizing the last Beethoven, the mature composer and the end of the metamorphosis.

At the beginning of the 19th century, Beethoven broke free from the classical sonata form, and began distorting and expanding it, as well as developing new sonorities for the piano, which has led to his own genuine and idiosyncratic musical language. In his first volume, Dablemont will present the three Sonatas op. 27 and 28 written between 1801 and 1802, especially witnessing of the experimental paths Beethoven took at that time of his life.

Check behind-the-scene pictures on Pierre-Arnaud’s Google+ page!

Project Info

  • Recording dates: March 15th – 19th, 2013
  • Recording studio: Sound Studio HAMU, Prague (CZ)
  • Recording Engineer : Ondřej Urban
  • Music Producer : Radek Šalša
  • Estimated Date of public release : May 2013


Ludwig van Beethoven

1. Sonata op. 27 n°1 – Andante – Allegro – Andante
2. Sonata op. 27 n°1 – Allegro molto e vivace
3. Sonata op. 27 n°1 – Adagio con espressione
4. Sonata op. 27 n°1 – Allegro vivace
5. Sonata op. 27 n°2 “Moonlight” – Adagio sostenuto
6. Sonata op. 27 n°2 “Moonlight” – Allegretto
7. Sonata op. 27 n°2 “Moonlight” – Presto agitato
8. Sonata op. 28 “Pastorale” – Allegro
9. Sonata op. 28 “Pastorale” – Andante
10. Sonata op. 28 “Pastorale” – Scherzo: Allegro Vivace
11. Sonata op. 28 “Pastorale” – Rondo: Allegro ma non troppo